A Slow Goodbye

Kiwanissit

I was lucky enough to take a group of folks with disabilities to the Kiwanis Lodge near a beautiful mountain lake yesterday and enjoy burgers, a pontoon boat ride, and the classic 1929 lodge on an incredible sunny day. I think groups like Kiwanis, and the Lions, Elks, and Eagles were such a valuable part of the community as America suffered through two World Wars, a Great Depression, and Vietnam that it really saddens me to see the last backbone members enter their 90’s as young kids have no interest. Sure some of the poetry reading and membership pledges are a bit staid, but these people put in parks, funded college scholarships, and dedicated their lives to making a community livable. As charity is reduced to a yearly check or agreeing to donate a dollar in line at the cash register, I wish I knew how to inspire young people to not let these organizations die the slow death of shrinking boards.

Leave a comment