Winter Harvest

Rockies16.jpg

As I pass massive berms of snow pushed along the edges of streets and parking lots on my morning walk, a local travel agency Posts 81 degrees in Maui and 88 degrees in Cancun. While I have been to both places, and truly enjoyed the change in environment, I have to say that I feel winter gets a bad rap. Watching young kids place letters to Santa in a special mail box outside the toy store downtown, Alpenglow on the Rocky Mountains at sunset, and cross-country skiing at Izaac Walton Inn all make for a special season in the Northwest. Winter can be hard, it’s true, slipping on ice and extra caution behind the wheel are not things I enjoy, but it is also a time of hot cider, ugly knit Christmas sweaters and warm cozy fires. When I lived in Phoenix I missed all that, and painting snowmen on your store window will never be a substitute for the winter experience.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kris Stubberfield
    Dec 15, 2016 @ 16:48:11

    So true. Embracing the seasons is a great joy in life. People who live in the NW are truly blessed.

    Reply

  2. erin
    Dec 15, 2016 @ 18:23:09

    I love this!! And when I lived in California I missed the three seasons they don’t have. A hot chocolate on a cold day is just as enjoyable as a cold beer on a hot day – but there is no substitute for cuddling up with someone to keep warm. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

