Color your world

WatercolorsClass

There used to be a much quoted saying when I was a kid that, “Half of life was just showing up.” Certainly more is needed to get you elected Senator or Rotary president, but I’ve found that recognizing that statement’s validity will often get you off your butt and into the fray with far fewer regrets at the end of the day.

So it was last Friday as I lay dappled by the morning light scheduled to arrive at ¬†Glacier National Park for a three day wilderness watercolors course gifted to me last Fall by my wife. I didn’t want to go. I rolled around the multiple other things that needed my attention over splatting colors from a palette onto cold pressed paper and sulked. I searched for anything that might keep me home knowing full well that most of the cool things I’d ever done in my life once evoked similar feelings. Gourmet cooking class, friends farewell party, creative writing class, hike to the bottom of the Grande Canyon all were on the list as things I’d liked to have passed on moments before skipping into some of the best moments of my life. So it would be this day.

The class was limited to eight individuals staying in wilderness cabins focused on watercolor production from 9 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. over a three day period. I wasn’t even close to where I wanted to be in my level of skill, but I must say, I would be filled with regret this Tuesday morning in the coffee shop if I’d have passed. I saw parts of the park I didn’t know existed and made friends with people from all over the country, not to mention observing one of the top watercolors painters for this region. My moment of doubt would now be solemn sadness if I’d listened to my lazier side. Thank God for small cliche’s.

Leave a Reply

