Close but no cigar?

Wine

I don’t know about you, but when selecting a wine for human consumption a sense of humor isn’t the primary box I check on my checklist. I was in the supermarket yesterday when I spotted this unusual bottle of red (pictured) aptly named, “Horseshoes and Hand Grenades.” While this might have resulted in a curiosity buy if priced under $10, I’m not so sure I’d take a risk at $12.99. What did get my attention though was speculating over the intent of the graphic artist. I mean, if I remember correctly, the horseshoe, hand grenade reference is to “close only counts” in life with said items. Close, hmm. I wonder if they are telling us that they were “close” in producing a product that didn’t taste like elk piss.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. erin
    Apr 28, 2016 @ 17:34:48

    Hilarious perspective by you!!!!!! I think since close only counts in the horseshoes and hand grenades, they are calling themselves the real deal??? I don’t think they took into account your interpretation of their design, and they SHOULD HAVE!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

