Street Art Rocks!

IMG_20140920_093845_933

I was very curious when I saw an advertisement in the paper for a chalk art event this past Saturday. I think like most people, I’ve seen the Facebook posts of some of the incredible scenes artists have created on sidewalks and streets the last few years, so I decided to have a look.

I arrived downtown early in the morning before the crowds showed up and discovered each artist or team were given a set of 48 soft pastels with which to create. They were assigned a ten by ten space sprayed with chalkboard spray and had a few hours to finish their piece.  It was fascinating to watch the techniques used by each artist  and how they blended the different colors to create certain effects. It was so interesting I’ve decided I’m going to make a space on my driveway to give it a try and see if I can participate in a  year or two.

Leave a Reply

